Votre Panier  ( 0 )

your basket is empty

Livraison et délais d'expédition

Livraison en 2 à 5 jours maximum, hors précommande.

Why is it complicated to make responsible jeans Brenda

We created Brenda in 2019, then we re-released it in 2020, 2021, 2022 and again in 2023. This is proof of its success and the love you have for it. The many love messages we receive and collect here bear witness to this. We also read your negative feedback and advice for improvement. At the moment they are like a little stab in our sensitive hearts, but it is thanks to criticism that we progress. That’s good, we are both perfectionists and completely capable of improvement. So we've been making good jeans for 4 years now and trying to make them always better. Each production is therefore a new adventure, and that's how we like to work.

Today, we explain to you why it is so hard to make eco-responsible jeans.

A- Design the ideal jeans (and ones that don’t completely kill the planet)

1. Let's design fashion: imagine the cuts of jeans

3 starters, 3 main courses, 3 desserts: we often recognize a good restaurant by its short menu, synonymous with quality. Patine also has a short menu but rich in nutritional value :)

It is then a matter of designing just a few jeans. But when there are as many body types as there are people on earth, ready-to-wear just has to hold up. So we took 18 months to create two cuts for our wardrobe essentials: the Brenda Slim on the right leg and the Brenda Curvy which accommodates the hips.

From this stage we must make concessions. In our dreams we make different lengths to dress the smallest and the tallest but we target our priorities, expanding the size offering is an objective that seems essential to us. We now offer our jeans from 24 to 34, or 11 sizes. Not yet inclusive enough, being able to accommodate even more body types is our priority for 2023.

2. Everything starts from matter

Let's start with a confession: the Patine team is very demanding, an understatement not to say annoying. We are looking for fabric that lasts a long time, which reminds us just enough of the jeans of our 80s. In 1983 we loved their thickness and their texture, in 2023, they must also be eco-responsible. This is where the quest for the beautiful and durable denim fabric that we love, but which loves the planet in return, begins. This gives a superb Italian stretch-free denim fabric woven on old "selvedge" type machines in Italy: the width of the fabric is narrow, you can recognize the selvedge by the edges finished in weaving with white selvedges. Even more unique, it does not contain new cotton since it is made up of 50% recycled cotton from waste collected at the denim yarn stage, and 50% REFIBRA™ (a yarn mixing recycled cotton and lyocell, fiber made from Eucalyptus trees, uses little water and is 100% biodegradable). Ultra complicated to manufacture, we have been testing alternatives for 1 year and we will come back to it in a future article.

3. See life in blue

We have you fill out questionnaires because we love reading you. You obviously asked for new colors from Brenda, just as essential: Black and Ecru.

Except that our old Brenda canvas, as exemplary as it was, did not allow for new washes. To design “just” black and white jeans, we had to find new fabrics that correspond to our social and environmental criteria but which allow new colors. For black, for example, we turned to a mix of cotton recycled from old jeans and regenerative cotton (which we will talk about a lot in the coming years, particularly at Patine). For the ecru, a GOTS organic cotton, the other fabrics tested being too “blue” or “grey” for our taste. Jeans that you put on again, you must necessarily find them beautiful.

B- Hazards and hallelujahs, producing conscious jeans

1. The right QQP ratio: quality/quantity/price

Finding solutions to not overproduce and keep a “democratic” selling price is far from easy. Our development team unearths the cream of partners and producers. It's about working with kind, trustworthy people above all else. And also providers of innovations to rethink fashion. Our solutions are often the most expensive: the most beautiful canvases, modern washing techniques, local manufacturing. We must ensure a margin for Patine which ensures our sustainability, but we do not have the luxury of massive image campaigns. In addition, a conventional distribution system in reseller stores would force us to exceed €200 in sales prices. We refuse to do so.

It is also impossible to accept over-produced unsold items and large periods of sales and discounts: this would mean artificially inflating prices to cover the cost of unsold items and promotions. The pre-order system allows us to produce a fair quantity and a fair price.

2. Every step counts

Nothing is left to chance in the production process of Brenda jeans: from the selection of cotton to its washing. For example, for washing, all processes have been selected to avoid over-pollution and save water, whether it is the method of dyeing with indigo on the surface or without toxic solvents at the time of manufacturing the canvas up to 'at the ozone washing stage of the jeans once made. This process drastically reduces the water consumed and preserves the health of those who wash your jeans. Our washer partner in Portugal is also optimizing its energy mix thanks to its investments in biomass.

Fun fact: the first time I met Andreia in 2017, who would become our exclusive partner for making Patine denim, I told her about the jeans we were going to make together...and she thought I was crazy. Since then, we have become friends and are creating the jeans of tomorrow together... today.

"I met Charlotte when she had just launched Patine and her enthusiasm, passion, perseverance and focus caught my attention. It was not common, especially when the fashion world was not concerned on sustainability, to find someone with such a clear vision of what Fashion and sustainability should really mean.
Patine was a visionary brand and Charlotte was the mind and heart behind it. For months she looked for the best and most ecological fabric, tested all the sustainable denim treatments and constantly improved the jeans fit. I have no doubts that her unique vision and hard work are the basis of one of the most prominent and well recognized brands on the denim world today." Andreia

3. The vagaries of production: nothing is immutable.

The Brenda canvas has many qualities but it had one fault, it is a little unstable which can create size differences depending on the production. Which is generally the case for denim in general, but which is even more true in the case of jeans containing Refibra. Which means that with each production, it can vary by a few millimeters from the fixed scale of measurements, which obviously has consequences. From one production to another, the Brenda jeans can come out a little bit smaller or a tad larger. Hence the importance of finding a canvas that meets all our quality criteria but is more stable. It makes life easier for us to advise you on size and for you to choose the right jeans.

C- Sell Patina style jeans

1. Damn algorithm

We will always love Instagram which allowed us to meet you. Moreover, we still have fabulous encounters and discoveries there every day. But we also experience the law of algorithms head-on. We refrain from falling into the traps of old-fashioned marketing, so our brand grows slowly, without taking shortcuts. Fortunately we are soon opening the brand new Patine studio where you can easily try on our jeans and find your size. If you are not in Paris, we will announce our first pop up in the region in a few weeks. In the meantime, we take the time to answer each of your questions, whether existential or not, to your doubts about size, material and others by DM, by email, by phone but not yet by fax. The chat on the site is also extremely practical when you are hesitant, we advise you live.

Brenda jeans are currently on pre-order , shipping at the beginning of April, looking forward to spring.

BONUS: WHAT’S NEXT?

In 2021 we released our first piece of summer denim for pre-order: the Brenda Short. In 2022, our version of the just-enough mini denim skirt is added to the capsule: Brenda Jupe. For 2023, we need you to know what you want and above all need in your wardrobe: what new colors? the same ? a black denim skirt?

Votre Panier  ( 0 )

Votre panier est vide

Livraison et délais d'expédition

Livraison en 2 à 5 jours maximum, hors précommande.

Pourquoi c'est compliqué de faire les jeans responsables Brenda

 

On a créé Brenda en 2019, puis on l’a réédité en 2020, 2021, 2022 et à nouveau en 2023. C’est la preuve de son succès et de l’amour que vous lui portez. Les nombreux love messages qu’on reçoit et qu'on collectionne ici en témoignent. On lit aussi vos retours négatifs et conseils d’amélioration. Sur le moment ils sont comme un petit coup de canif dans nos cœurs sensibles, mais c’est grâce aux critiques qu’on progresse. Ça tombe bien, nous sommes à la fois perfectionnistes et tout à fait perfectibles. Ça fait donc maintenant 4 ans qu’on fait des bons jeans et qu’on cherche à les rendre toujours meilleurs. Chaque production est donc une nouvelle aventure, et c’est comme ça qu’on aime travailler.

Aujourd’hui, on vous explique pourquoi c’est si dur de faire un jean éco-responsable.

A- Concevoir le jean idéal (et qui ne tue pas complètement la planète)

1. Dessinons la mode : imaginer les coupes de jeans

3 entrées, 3 plats, 3 desserts : on reconnait souvent un bon restaurant à sa carte courte synonyme de qualité. Patine aussi a une carte courte mais riche en valeur nutritionnelle :)

Il s’agit alors de concevoir seulement quelques jeans. Or quand il y a autant de morphologies que de personnes sur terre, le prêt-à-porter n’a qu’à bien se tenir. On a donc pris 18 mois pour créer deux coupes à notre dressing d’essentiels : le Brenda Slim à la jambe droite et le Brenda Curvy qui accueille les hanches.

Dès cette étape on doit faire des concessions. Dans nos rêves on fait des longueurs différentes pour habiller les plus petit·es et les plus plus grand·es mais on cible nos priorités, élargir l’offre des tailles est un objectif qui nous semble primordial. Nous proposons maintenant nos jeans du 24 au 34, soit 11 tailles. Pas encore assez inclusifs, pouvoir accueillir encore plus de morphologies est notre priorité 2023.

2. Tout part de la matière

Commençons par un aveu : la team Patine est très exigeante, euphémisme pour ne pas dire casse-pieds. On est en quête de la toile qui dure longtemps, qui nous fait juste assez penser aux jeans de nos années 80. En 1983 on aimait leur épaisseur et leur texture, en 2023, ils doivent en plus être éco-responsables. C’est là que commence la quête de la toile denim belle et résistante comme on les aime mais qui aime la planète en retour. Ça donne une superbe toile italienne de denim sans stretch tissée sur des machines anciennes type "selvedge" en Italie : la laize du tissu est étroite, on reconnaît le selvedge aux bords finis au tissage par des lisières blanches. Encore plus inédit, elle ne contient pas de coton neuf puisqu'elle est composée à 50% de coton recyclé à partir des déchets collectés à l’étape du fil de denim, et à 50% de REFIBRA™ (un fil mélangeant coton recyclé et lyocell, fibre à base d’arbres d’Eucalyptus, peu gourmande en eau et 100% biodégradable). Ultra compliqué à fabriquer, nous testons des alternatives depuis 1 an et nous y reviendrons dans un prochain article.

3. Voir la vie en bleu

On vous fait remplir des questionnaires car on adore vous lire. Vous avez évidemment demandé de nouvelles couleurs de Brenda, toutes aussi essentielles : Noir et Ecru.

Sauf que notre ancienne toile Brenda aussi exemplaire soit-elle, ne permettait pas de nouveaux délavages. Pour concevoir “juste” un jean noir et un blanc, il a donc fallu trouver des nouvelles toiles  qui correspondent à nos critères sociaux et environnementaux mais qui permettent de nouvelles couleurs. Pour le noir par exemple, on s’est tournées vers un mix de coton recyclé d’anciens jeans et de coton régénératif (dont on va beaucoup parler les prochaines années, en particulier chez Patine). Pour l’écru un coton bio GOTS, les autres toiles testées étant trop “bleutées” ou “grisou” à notre goût. Un jean qu’on remet, on doit forcément le trouver beau.

B- Aléas et alléluias, produire des jeans conscious

1. Le bon rapport QQP : qualité/quantité/prix

Trouver des solutions pour ne pas surproduire, garder un prix de vente “démocratique”, c’est loin d’être évident. Notre team développement déniche la crème des partenaires et producteurs. Il s'agit de travailler avec des gens gentils et de confiance avant tout le reste. Et aussi apporteurs d’innovations pour repenser la mode. Nos solutions sont souvent les plus chères : les plus belles toiles, les techniques modernes de délavage, une confection locale. Nous devons assurer une marge à Patine qui assure notre pérennité, mais n’avons pas le luxe de massives campagnes d’image. De plus un système de distribution conventionnel dans des magasins revendeurs nous obligerait à dépasser les 200€ de prix de vente. Nous nous y refusons.

Impossible aussi d’accepter des invendus surproduits et de larges périodes de soldes et remises : cela voudrait dire gonfler les prix artificiellement pour supporter le coût des invendus et des promotions. Le système de la précommande nous permet de produire une quantité juste, et un prix juste.

2. Chaque étape compte

Rien n’est laissé au hasard dans le processus de production des jeans Brenda : de la sélection du coton à son délavage. À titre d’exemple, pour le délavage tous les procédés ont été sélectionnés pour éviter la surpollution et économiser l’eau que ce soit le mode de teinture à l’indigo en surface et sans solvants toxiques au moment de la fabrication de la toile jusqu’à l’étape du délavage à l’ozone des jeans une fois confectionnés. Ce procédé réduit drastiquement l’eau consommée, préserve la santé de ceux qui délavent vos jeans. Notre partenaire délaveur au Portugal optimise aussi son mix énergétique grâce à ses investissement dans la biomasse.

Fun fact : la première fois que j’ai rencontré Andreia en 2017 qui allait devenir notre partenaire exclusive pour la confection du denim Patine, je lui raconté les jeans qu’on allait faire ensemble…et elle m’a pris pour une folle. Depuis nous sommes devenues amies et créons ensemble les jeans de demain...dès aujourd'hui.

"I met Charlotte when she had just launched Patine and her enthusiasm, passion, perseverance and focus caught my attention. It was not common , specially when the fashion world was not concerned on sustainability, to find someone with such a clear vision of what Fashion and sustainability should really mean.
Patine was a visionary brand and Charlotte was the mind and heart behind it. For months she looked for the best and most ecological fabric, tested all the sustainable denim treatments and constantly improved the jeans fit. I have no doubts that her unique vision and hard work are the base of one of the most prominent and well recognized brands on the denim world nowadays." Andreia

 

3. Les aléas de la production : rien n'est immuable.

La toile Brenda a de nombreuses qualités mais il lui fallait bien un défaut, elle est un peu instable ce qui peut créer des différences de tailles selon les productions. Ce qui est globalement le cas pour le denim en général, mais qui est plus vrai encore dans le cas de jeans comprenant du Refibra. Ce qui signifie qu’à chaque production, celle-ci peut varier de quelques millimètres du barème de mesures fixé ce qui a évidemment des conséquences. D’une production l’autre, le jean Brenda peut sortir un tout petit peu plus petit ou un chouia grand. D’où l’importance de trouver une toile qui répond à tous nos critères de qualité mais qui soit plus stable. Ça nous facilite la vie à nous pour vous conseiller sur la taille et à vous pour choisir le bon jean.

C- Vendre des jeans façon Patine

1. Foutu algorithme

On aimera toujours Instagram qui nous a permis de vous rencontrer. D'ailleurs et on y fait encore chaque jour des rencontres et découvertes fabuleuses. Mais nous subissons aussi la loi des algorithmes de plein fouet. Nous nous interdisons de tomber dans les travers du marketing à l’ancienne du coup notre marque grandit doucement, sans prendre de raccourcis. Heureusement on ouvre bientôt le tout nouveau studio Patine où vous pourrez essayer nos jeans facilement et trouver votre taille. Si vous n’êtes pas à Paris, nous allons annoncer notre premier pop up en région dans quelques semaines. En attendant on prend le temps de répondre à chacune de vos questions qu'elles soient existentielles ou non, à vos doutes sur taille, matière et autres en DM, par mail, par tel mais pas encore par fax. Le chat sur le site est aussi extrêmement pratique quand vous hésitez, on vous conseille en live.

Les jeans Brenda sont actuellement en précommande, expédition début avril, vivement le printemps.

BONUS : WHAT'S NEXT ?

En 2021 on a sorti notre première pièce de summer denim en précommande : le Brenda Short. En 2022 s’ajoute à la capsule notre version de la juste assez mini jupe en jean : Brenda Jupe. Pour 2023, on a besoin de vous pour savoir ce dont vous avez envie et surtout besoin dans votre dressing : quelles nouvelles couleurs ? les mêmes ? une jupe en jean noire ?